I don't want to talk about the offense not scoring again tonight. I didn't expect them to do anything against Burnett anyway. They never do. I don't want to nitpick at Girardi probably over managing the pen. All I want to do tonight is give credit were its due. You know, I don't think anyone ever doubted Carl Pavano's ability. He'll be looked at as probably one of the worst free agent signings in Yankee history but it's not for what he's done on the mound. He was terrific tonight. It makes me wonder what the past 4 years could have been like if he wasn't made of tissue. I hope it lasts, because if this team even has a prayer left, they need Pavano to come up big.
What can I say about Rivera? 2 on and 1 out in a must win 1 run game and I had no doubt the Yanks would pull it out. Rivera is simply the beat weapon in the history of sports. At age 38 he might be having his best season. He has a 12 to 1 strikeout to walk ratio (70 k's, 6 walks). There won't be another player like him again. There will probably be closers that are as dominant over a few years, but not over 13 years. Not to mention the high pressure situations he excels in.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment