I'm a big believer that in sports, there are winning players and losing players. Stats don't always tell the whole story. The general thought on the 2008 Yankees is how can they be playing so poorly with so much talent. For me, that's easy to understand. There is more to an athlete than the stats on the back of their card. No team epitomizes that more than these Yankees.
That leads me into todays game. It' hard to concentrate on any bright spots when a team, who can't afford to lose, blows a 6-2 lead. The key play was obviously Cano's error since it opened the flood gates. If you watch Cano day in and day out, he is lazy and undisciplined. He has all the talent in the world but, for whatever reason, lacks baseball IQ and killer instinct. He's the anti-Jeter really.
But Cano is just an example of what Brain Cashman (if he's still around) needs to change this offseason. The Yankees have a losing culture. They have players with good stats who can't come through when the lights get brighter. Which brings me to A-Rod. It's hard to get on him because he hot the ball so hard, but the outcome was one that we have seen all to often. It's shame that whatever is in between his ears gets in the way of his amazing ability. It's a shame that we as Yankee fans may have to stand witness to it for the next 9 years.
Anyway, I know they are still "alive" in the playoff chase but today felt like the nail in the coffin to me.
By the way, ARod, congrats on the double play record.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment