I don't buy that Andy Pettitte is just struggling right now, I just don't. Normally a second half pitcher, Pettitte has been bad of late and rumors are that his velocity is down. There was also a report about a month and half ago that the Yankees wanted to skip Andy's start because he had a tired arm. The issue was that they had no one else to take his place so Pettitte, being the warrior that he is, pitched through it. I suspect that when this disaster of a season is over, news will come out that Pettitte has been pitching hurt. We're not seeing the real Andy Pettitte right now and I don't think he is done by any means.
I want to see Andy back on the team next season and I feel that the Yankees should offer him a 1 year deal in the offseason at around $10,000,000. If I was the GM, I would go into the hot stove thinking my rotation will consist of Wang, Joba, Andy and two players to be determined. Personally, I like the idea of Sabathia being in the mix and then I will cross my fingers that Phil Hughes can be the number 5. If not, they need to make a deal for another pitcher or maybe consider bringing Mussina back. Remember, the issue has not been the pitching this season, it has been the absolute lack of offense.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment