Sunday, August 31, 2008

Pettitte just doesn't look right

I don't buy that Andy Pettitte is just struggling right now, I just don't. Normally a second half pitcher, Pettitte has been bad of late and rumors are that his velocity is down. There was also a report about a month and half ago that the Yankees wanted to skip Andy's start because he had a tired arm. The issue was that they had no one else to take his place so Pettitte, being the warrior that he is, pitched through it. I suspect that when this disaster of a season is over, news will come out that Pettitte has been pitching hurt. We're not seeing the real Andy Pettitte right now and I don't think he is done by any means.

I want to see Andy back on the team next season and I feel that the Yankees should offer him a 1 year deal in the offseason at around $10,000,000. If I was the GM, I would go into the hot stove thinking my rotation will consist of Wang, Joba, Andy and two players to be determined. Personally, I like the idea of Sabathia being in the mix and then I will cross my fingers that Phil Hughes can be the number 5. If not, they need to make a deal for another pitcher or maybe consider bringing Mussina back. Remember, the issue has not been the pitching this season, it has been the absolute lack of offense.

Saturday, August 30, 2008

Cano, Yanks just have a "Losing Culture"

I'm a big believer that in sports, there are winning players and losing players. Stats don't always tell the whole story. The general thought on the 2008 Yankees is how can they be playing so poorly with so much talent. For me, that's easy to understand. There is more to an athlete than the stats on the back of their card. No team epitomizes that more than these Yankees.

That leads me into todays game. It' hard to concentrate on any bright spots when a team, who can't afford to lose, blows a 6-2 lead. The key play was obviously Cano's error since it opened the flood gates. If you watch Cano day in and day out, he is lazy and undisciplined. He has all the talent in the world but, for whatever reason, lacks baseball IQ and killer instinct. He's the anti-Jeter really.

But Cano is just an example of what Brain Cashman (if he's still around) needs to change this offseason. The Yankees have a losing culture. They have players with good stats who can't come through when the lights get brighter. Which brings me to A-Rod. It's hard to get on him because he hot the ball so hard, but the outcome was one that we have seen all to often. It's shame that whatever is in between his ears gets in the way of his amazing ability. It's a shame that we as Yankee fans may have to stand witness to it for the next 9 years.

Anyway, I know they are still "alive" in the playoff chase but today felt like the nail in the coffin to me.

By the way, ARod, congrats on the double play record.

Friday, August 29, 2008

Congratulations ARod!

Alex Rodriguez has tied the Yankee record for most double plays in a single month with 10! The record was held by Matty Alou who did it in 1973. It brings back memories of the 9th in inning of game 5 of the 2005 ALDS when he killed a rally by grounding into a 6-4-3.

Please enjoy one of Alex's record setting at bats...

Tonight came down to Pavano and Mo

I don't want to talk about the offense not scoring again tonight. I didn't expect them to do anything against Burnett anyway. They never do. I don't want to nitpick at Girardi probably over managing the pen. All I want to do tonight is give credit were its due. You know, I don't think anyone ever doubted Carl Pavano's ability. He'll be looked at as probably one of the worst free agent signings in Yankee history but it's not for what he's done on the mound. He was terrific tonight. It makes me wonder what the past 4 years could have been like if he wasn't made of tissue. I hope it lasts, because if this team even has a prayer left, they need Pavano to come up big.

What can I say about Rivera? 2 on and 1 out in a must win 1 run game and I had no doubt the Yanks would pull it out. Rivera is simply the beat weapon in the history of sports. At age 38 he might be having his best season. He has a 12 to 1 strikeout to walk ratio (70 k's, 6 walks). There won't be another player like him again. There will probably be closers that are as dominant over a few years, but not over 13 years. Not to mention the high pressure situations he excels in.

It's hard to hate Giambi

I think its safe to say that Jason Giambi's 7 years in pinstripes have been up and down at best. We've had some good times... like his game winning grad slam against the Twins in the rain or his 2 homeruns against the Red Sox in game 7 of the 2003 ALCS. But the bad have far out weighed the good. He embarrassed the franchise with his steroid saga, he has had seasons riddled with injury and poor play, and he absolutely refuses to hit the ball to the left side when every single player positions themselves on the right side of the field. Other than occasional homerun, Giambi is pretty much useless.


But taking all that into consideration, he still seems like a pretty cool guy. Do I want him on the team next year? Absolutely not. But maybe, since he'll probably be unemployed, he could stop over for a few beers and we could talk mustaches.

Yanks still alive...for now

If yesterdays 3-2 win over the Red Sox did anything to fans, it only prolonged our agony. I'd like to say, "yeah, we're 6 back of the Wild Card with 29 play...It could happen." Then I remember that we have Carl Pavano pitching tonight. Then I remember that Sidney Ponson and Darrell Rasner still have to pitch. Then I remember that this team has scored 3 runs or less 42 times (or something like that). Then I remember our 28 million dollar cornerstone is a complete head case. Then I remember, "Oh yeah, this team is old, injured, and not remotely clutch." So while I like to see anyone with a mustache single handedly carry a team (maybe its because I miss Donnie Baseball), yesterdays win did little to inspire any confidence in me.

About Pinstripe Pulse

So its 2008 and the Yankees are 29 games away from their first non playoff season since 1993. I've been a Yankee fan since I was old enough to know what sports are and I've been complaining about the Yanks ever since. I've decided that instead of complaining about them with my friends...constantly...that I need my own forum. This is it. Pinstripe Pulse will offer its read my own personal take on the games, players, off season moves, etc. We'll have poles, and ask readers to leave comments on our constant over reactions. We will even have some guest columnists along the way.